Bureau Brut

Buy fonts

  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Line
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Line Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Thin
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Thin Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Extralight
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Extralight Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Light
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Light Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Book
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Book Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Regular
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Medium
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Medium Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Bold
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Bold Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Extrabold
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Extrabold Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Black
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Black Italic

Brut Grotesque

Designed by Bureau Brut
Published in 2020
This license is reserved only for an independent person working alone. It allows the installation of the font file on a fixed computer and a laptop only.
200€[20 styles]
Save on your order, think about the family pack
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
200€ [excl. taxes]
🡢 You can only order one kind of license with each order. You can change it in the cart.
🡢 To buy multiple kind of licenses, you need to place separate orders.

About Brut Grotesque


20 styles
Design by Bureau Brut in 2015
Published in 2020

The main goal, when designing Brut Grotesque, was to give Bureau Brut a thoroughly functional typographic signature. The typeface’s unassuming features allow it to convey with ease the creative ideas underpinning every answer to every brief. Now it can become the partner that will never let you down: a typeface which is as straightforward as it is efficient. The design was influenced by the “bland” aesthetic of Helvetica and Arial, and leans on classic examples of grotesque and neo-grotesque typefaces such as Folio (Bauer, 1956), Akzidenz-Grotesk (Berthold, 1898) and Neue Haas Grotesk (Haas, 1957–1961). The family boasts ten weights — from Line to Black, all with their matching italics. Its extensive glyph set, which subsequently provided the technical template for all the other typefaces designed and released by Bureau Brut, features numerous alternative and additional characters, making it a purposefully practical tool.

 

 PDF specimen

 TEST versions

Distinctive features


Showcase


🡦 Black

Matthew

🡦 Bold

Kathleen

🡦 Regular

Abdullahi

🡦 Extralight

Laurence

🡦 Line

Wolfgang

🡦 Extrabold + Extrabold Italic

An immense track,
of dazzling whiteness,
marked the passage
of the animal.

🡦 Medium + Medium Italic

As to its dimensions,
I could only conjecture
them to be admirably
proportioned.

🡦 Light + Light Italic

I concluded definitely
that it belonged to
the vertebrate branch,
class mammalia.

🡦 Bold + Bold Italic

A cry of fury broke from everyone! At noon we were no further advanced than at eight o’clock in the morning. The captain then decided to take more direct means. “Ah!” said he, “that animal goes quicker than the Abraham Lincoln. Very well! we will see whether it will escape these conical bullets. Send your men to the forecastle, sir.” The forecastle gun was immediately loaded and slewed round. But the shot passed some feet above the cetacean, which was half a mile off. “Another, more to the right,” cried the commander, “and five dollars to whoever An old gunner with a grey beard—that I can see now—with steady eye and grave face, went up to the gun and took a long aim. A loud report was heard, with which were mingled the cheers of the crew. The bullet did its work; it hit the animal, and, sliding off the rounded surface, was lost in two miles depth of sea.

🡦 Medium + Medium Italic

A cry of fury broke from everyone! At noon we were no further advanced than at eight o’clock in the morning. The captain then decided to take more direct means. “Ah!” said he, “that animal goes quicker than the Abraham Lincoln. Very well! we will see whether it will escape these conical bullets. Send your men to the forecastle, sir.” The forecastle gun was immediately loaded and slewed round. But the shot passed some feet above the cetacean, which was half a mile off. “Another, more to the right,” cried the commander, “and five dollars to whoever An old gunner with a grey beard—that I can see now—with steady eye and grave face, went up to the gun and took a long aim. A loud report was heard, with which were mingled the cheers of the crew. The bullet did its work; it hit the animal, and, sliding off the rounded surface, was lost in two miles depth of sea.

🡦 Regular + Italic

A cry of fury broke from everyone! At noon we were no further advanced than at eight o’clock in the morning. The captain then decided to take more direct means. “Ah!” said he, “that animal goes quicker than the Abraham Lincoln. Very well! we will see whether it will escape these conical bullets. Send your men to the forecastle, sir.” The forecastle gun was immediately loaded and slewed round. But the shot passed some feet above the cetacean, which was half a mile off. “Another, more to the right,” cried the commander, “and five dollars to whoever An old gunner with a grey beard—that I can see now—with steady eye and grave face, went up to the gun and took a long aim. A loud report was heard, with which were mingled the cheers of the crew. The bullet did its work; it hit the animal, and, sliding off the rounded surface, was lost in two miles depth of sea.

🡦 Book + Book Italic

A cry of fury broke from everyone! At noon we were no further advanced than at eight o’clock in the morning. The captain then decided to take more direct means. “Ah!” said he, “that animal goes quicker than the Abraham Lincoln. Very well! we will see whether it will escape these conical bullets. Send your men to the forecastle, sir.” The forecastle gun was immediately loaded and slewed round. But the shot passed some feet above the cetacean, which was half a mile off. “Another, more to the right,” cried the commander, “and five dollars to whoever An old gunner with a grey beard—that I can see now—with steady eye and grave face, went up to the gun and took a long aim. A loud report was heard, with which were mingled the cheers of the crew. The bullet did its work; it hit the animal, and, sliding off the rounded surface, was lost in two miles depth of sea.

Character set preview


Brut Grotesque in use

Bureau Brut

Buy fonts

  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Line
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Line Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Thin
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Thin Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Extralight
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Extralight Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Light
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Light Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Book
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Book Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Regular
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Medium
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Medium Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Bold
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Bold Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Extrabold
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Extrabold Italic
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Black
  • 60 pt
    Brut Grotesque Black Italic

Brut Grotesque

Dessiné par Bureau Brut
Publié en 2020
Cette licence est réservée uniquement à une personne indépendante travaillant seule. Elle autorise l’installation du fichier de la fonte sur un ordinateur fixe et un ordinateur portable uniquement.
200€[20 styles]
🡡 Faites des économies pensez au pack 🡡
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
200€ [HT]
🡢 Un seul type de licence par commande est possible. Elle est modifiable dans le panier.
🡢 Pour acheter plusieurs types de licences, il vous faut faire des commandes indépendantes.

À propos du Brut Grotesque


20 styles
Dessiné par Bureau Brut en 2015
Publié en 2020

Doter Bureau Brut d’une signature typographique intégralement fonctionnelle a été le premier objectif dans le processus d’élaboration du Brut Grotesque, dont la discrétion permet de communiquer tout en laissant la part belle aux idées et aux projets. Il a aujourd’hui l’ambition d’entrer dans votre quotidien comme un partenaire sur lequel vous pourrez toujours compter, un caractère efficace et sans état d’âme. L’aspect impersonnel de l’Helvetica ou de l’Arial a orienté le design vers les linéales grotesques et néo-grotesques, et plus précisément vers de grands classique tels que le Folio (Bauer, 1956), l’Akzidenz-Grotesk (Berthold, 1898) ou le Neue Haas Grotesk (Haas, 1957–1961). La famille typographique s’étend sur 10 graisses — du Line au Black, avec leurs italiques respectifs. Par ailleurs, son jeu de caractères augmenté de nombreux glyphes et signes spéciaux, qui a fourni la matrice commune à tous les caractères de texte développés depuis par Bureau Brut, en fait un outil volontairement pratique.

 

 Spécimen PDF

 Versions TEST

Traits distinctifs


Showcase


🡦 Black

Matthew

🡦 Bold

Kathleen

🡦 Regular

Abdullahi

🡦 Extralight

Laurence

🡦 Line

Wolfgang

🡦 Extrabold + Extrabold Italic

Un immense sillage, d’une blancheur éclatante, marquait le passage de l’animal.

🡦 Medium + Medium Italic

L’animal me parut être admirablement proportionné dans ses trois dimensions.

🡦 Light + Light Italic

Ces ordres furent exécutés, et la frégate s’éloigna rapidement du foyer lumineux.

🡦 Bold + Bold Italic

Un cri de fureur s’échappa de toutes les poitrines ! À midi, nous n’étions pas plus avancés qu’à huit heures du matin. Le commandant Farragut se décida alors à employer des moyens plus directs. « Ah ! dit-il, cet animal-là va plus vite que l’Abraham Lincoln ! Eh bien : nous allons voir s’il distancera ses boulets coniques. Maître, des hommes à la pièce de l’avant. » Le canon de gaillard fut immédiatement chargé boulet passa à quelques pieds au-dessus du cétacé, qui se tenait à un demi-mille. « À un autre plus adroit ! cria le commandant, et cinq cents dollars à qui percera cette infernale bête ! » Un vieux canonnier à barbe grise — que je vois encore — , l’œil calme, la physionomie froide, s’approcha de sa pièce, la mit en position et visa longtemps. Une forte détonation éclata, à laquelle se mêlèrent les hurrahs de l’équipage. Le boulet atteignit son but, il frappa l’animal, mais non pas normalement, et glissant sur sa surface arrondie, il alla se perdre à deux milles en mer.

🡦 Medium + Medium Italic

Un cri de fureur s’échappa de toutes les poitrines ! À midi, nous n’étions pas plus avancés qu’à huit heures du matin. Le commandant Farragut se décida alors à employer des moyens plus directs. « Ah ! dit-il, cet animal-là va plus vite que l’Abraham Lincoln ! Eh bien : nous allons voir s’il distancera ses boulets coniques. Maître, des hommes à la pièce de l’avant. » Le canon de gaillard fut immédiatement chargé boulet passa à quelques pieds au-dessus du cétacé, qui se tenait à un demi-mille. « À un autre plus adroit ! cria le commandant, et cinq cents dollars à qui percera cette infernale bête ! » Un vieux canonnier à barbe grise — que je vois encore — , l’œil calme, la physionomie froide, s’approcha de sa pièce, la mit en position et visa longtemps. Une forte détonation éclata, à laquelle se mêlèrent les hurrahs de l’équipage. Le boulet atteignit son but, il frappa l’animal, mais non pas normalement, et glissant sur sa surface arrondie, il alla se perdre à deux milles en mer.

🡦 Regular + Italic

Un cri de fureur s’échappa de toutes les poitrines ! À midi, nous n’étions pas plus avancés qu’à huit heures du matin. Le commandant Farragut se décida alors à employer des moyens plus directs. « Ah ! dit-il, cet animal-là va plus vite que l’Abraham Lincoln ! Eh bien : nous allons voir s’il distancera ses boulets coniques. Maître, des hommes à la pièce de l’avant. » Le canon de gaillard fut immédiatement chargé boulet passa à quelques pieds au-dessus du cétacé, qui se tenait à un demi-mille. « À un autre plus adroit ! cria le commandant, et cinq cents dollars à qui percera cette infernale bête ! » Un vieux canonnier à barbe grise — que je vois encore — , l’œil calme, la physionomie froide, s’approcha de sa pièce, la mit en position et visa longtemps. Une forte détonation éclata, à laquelle se mêlèrent les hurrahs de l’équipage. Le boulet atteignit son but, il frappa l’animal, mais non pas normalement, et glissant sur sa surface arrondie, il alla se perdre à deux milles en mer.

🡦 Book + Book Italic

Un cri de fureur s’échappa de toutes les poitrines ! À midi, nous n’étions pas plus avancés qu’à huit heures du matin. Le commandant Farragut se décida alors à employer des moyens plus directs. « Ah ! dit-il, cet animal-là va plus vite que l’Abraham Lincoln ! Eh bien : nous allons voir s’il distancera ses boulets coniques. Maître, des hommes à la pièce de l’avant. » Le canon de gaillard fut immédiatement chargé boulet passa à quelques pieds au-dessus du cétacé, qui se tenait à un demi-mille. « À un autre plus adroit ! cria le commandant, et cinq cents dollars à qui percera cette infernale bête ! » Un vieux canonnier à barbe grise — que je vois encore — , l’œil calme, la physionomie froide, s’approcha de sa pièce, la mit en position et visa longtemps. Une forte détonation éclata, à laquelle se mêlèrent les hurrahs de l’équipage. Le boulet atteignit son but, il frappa l’animal, mais non pas normalement, et glissant sur sa surface arrondie, il alla se perdre à deux milles en mer.

Aperçu du jeu de caractères


Voir le Brut Grotesque en usage