Bureau Brut

Buy fonts

  • 60 pt
    Boogy Brut Light
  • 60 pt
    Boogy Brut Book
  • 60 pt
    Boogy Brut Regular
  • 60 pt
    Boogy Brut Medium
  • 60 pt
    Boogy Brut Bold
  • 60 pt
    Boogy Brut Poster White
  • 60 pt
    Boogy Brut Poster Black
  • 60 pt
    BBWW
  • 60 pt
    BBWB

Boogy Brut

Designed by Bureau Brut
Published in 2020
This license is reserved only for an independent person working alone. It allows the installation of the font file on a fixed computer and a laptop only.
200€[9 styles]
Save on your order, think about the family pack
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
200€ [excl. taxes]
🡢 You can only order one kind of license with each order. You can change it in the cart.
🡢 To buy multiple kind of licenses, you need to place separate orders.

About Boogy Brut


9 styles
Designed by Bureau Brut & Julien Priez (Boogy Paper)
Released in 2020

Boogy Brut is the outcome of a collaboration between Boogy Paper and Bureau Brut. But, by the way, who is Boogy Paper?

Julien Priez, aka Boogy Paper, is a calligrapher and type designer, and a member of the “High On Type” collective. His work is heavily indebted to designers such as Oscar Ogg or Berthold Wolpe, who similarly envisioned calligraphy and lettering not necessarily as ends in themselves but as key steps within an overall creative process. This approach has informed parts of the design of Boogy Brut, which is a true contemporary digital typographic family and not merely a typeface influenced by calligraphy. Sharply modelled shapes reveal the structural qualites of the written models but do away with the handmade imperfections caused by the writing tools or the texture of the paper. Boogy Brut thus is free from any reference to a particular model, rather a synthesis of various researches and experiments endeavoured by Julien over the past few years.

 

 

The Boogy Brut family offers a wide spectrum of uses, from drop caps to poster type to text sizes. Every subfamily benefits from a specific formal approach while staying firmly within the frame of the larger whole. The “Wild” versions are designed like initials: far from the traditional “quest for legibility”, they tread the boundaries between graphic design and pure art. The “Poster” subfamily, which is intended for display use, is comparatively closer to the calligraphic sources than the other two. In order to achieve the narrowest fit, its shapes have been fine-tuned to allow for very close spacing — for instance, the finials of each letter were drawn so that the transition from one letter to the next remains organic and harmonious, and some pairs even create “natural” ligatures between touching letters. The last subfamily is optimized for text setting in small sizes, with an extended character set and numerous OpenType features. Nevertheless, this vibrant design has inherited from its “Poster” siblings’ strong temper, and is anything but classical. Be patient, Italics are in progress!

 

 PDF specimen

 TEST versions

 

Distinctive features


 

 

Showcase


🡦 Wild White

WILD

🡦 Wild Black

WEST

🡦 Poster White

Quiet Storm

🡦 Poster Black

Diamonds

🡦 Poster White + Wild White

Excursions

🡦 Poster Black + Wild Black

Reunited

🡦 Bold

An immense track, of dazzling whiteness, marked the passage of the animal.

🡦 Medium

As to its dimensions, I could only conjecture them to be admirably proportioned.

🡦 Regular

I concluded definitely that it belonged to the vertebrate branch, class mammalia.

🡦 Book

These orders were executed, and the frigate moved rapidly from the burning light.

🡦 Light

This fact, so grave in itself, might perhaps have been forgotten like many others.

🡦 Bold

A cry of fury broke from everyone! At noon we were no further advanced than at eight o’clock in the morning. The captain then decided to take more direct means. “Ah!” said he, “that animal goes quicker than the Abraham Lincoln. Very well! we will see whether it will escape these conical bullets. Send your men to the forecastle, sir.” The forecastle gun was immediately loaded and slewed round. But the shot passed some feet above the cetacean, which was half a mile off. “Another, more to the right,” cried the commander, “and five dollars to whoever An old gunner with a grey beard—that I can see now—with steady eye and grave face, went up to the gun and took a long aim. A loud report was heard, with which were mingled the cheers of the crew. The bullet did its work; it hit the animal, and, sliding off the rounded surface, was lost in two miles depth of sea.

🡦 Medium

A cry of fury broke from everyone! At noon we were no further advanced than at eight o’clock in the morning. The captain then decided to take more direct means. “Ah!” said he, “that animal goes quicker than the Abraham Lincoln. Very well! we will see whether it will escape these conical bullets. Send your men to the forecastle, sir.” The forecastle gun was immediately loaded and slewed round. But the shot passed some feet above the cetacean, which was half a mile off. “Another, more to the right,” cried the commander, “and five dollars to whoever An old gunner with a grey beard—that I can see now—with steady eye and grave face, went up to the gun and took a long aim. A loud report was heard, with which were mingled the cheers of the crew. The bullet did its work; it hit the animal, and, sliding off the rounded surface, was lost in two miles depth of sea.

🡦 Regular

A cry of fury broke from everyone! At noon we were no further advanced than at eight o’clock in the morning. The captain then decided to take more direct means. “Ah!” said he, “that animal goes quicker than the Abraham Lincoln. Very well! we will see whether it will escape these conical bullets. Send your men to the forecastle, sir.” The forecastle gun was immediately loaded and slewed round. But the shot passed some feet above the cetacean, which was half a mile off. “Another, more to the right,” cried the commander, “and five dollars to whoever An old gunner with a grey beard—that I can see now—with steady eye and grave face, went up to the gun and took a long aim. A loud report was heard, with which were mingled the cheers of the crew. The bullet did its work; it hit the animal, and, sliding off the rounded surface, was lost in two miles depth of sea.

🡦 Book

A cry of fury broke from everyone! At noon we were no further advanced than at eight o’clock in the morning. The captain then decided to take more direct means. “Ah!” said he, “that animal goes quicker than the Abraham Lincoln. Very well! we will see whether it will escape these conical bullets. Send your men to the forecastle, sir.” The forecastle gun was immediately loaded and slewed round. But the shot passed some feet above the cetacean, which was half a mile off. “Another, more to the right,” cried the commander, “and five dollars to whoever An old gunner with a grey beard—that I can see now—with steady eye and grave face, went up to the gun and took a long aim. A loud report was heard, with which were mingled the cheers of the crew. The bullet did its work; it hit the animal, and, sliding off the rounded surface, was lost in two miles depth of sea.

🡦 Light

A cry of fury broke from everyone! At noon we were no further advanced than at eight o’clock in the morning. The captain then decided to take more direct means. “Ah!” said he, “that animal goes quicker than the Abraham Lincoln. Very well! we will see whether it will escape these conical bullets. Send your men to the forecastle, sir.” The forecastle gun was immediately loaded and slewed round. But the shot passed some feet above the cetacean, which was half a mile off. “Another, more to the right,” cried the commander, “and five dollars to whoever An old gunner with a grey beard—that I can see now—with steady eye and grave face, went up to the gun and took a long aim. A loud report was heard, with which were mingled the cheers of the crew. The bullet did its work; it hit the animal, and, sliding off the rounded surface, was lost in two miles depth of sea.

Aperçu du jeu de caractères


Boogy Brut


Boogy Brut Poster


Boogy Brut Wild

Bureau Brut

Buy fonts

  • 60 pt
    Boogy Brut Light
  • 60 pt
    Boogy Brut Book
  • 60 pt
    Boogy Brut Regular
  • 60 pt
    Boogy Brut Medium
  • 60 pt
    Boogy Brut Bold
  • 60 pt
    Boogy Brut Poster White
  • 60 pt
    Boogy Brut Poster Black
  • 60 pt
    BBWW
  • 60 pt
    BBWB

Boogy Brut

Dessiné par Bureau Brut
Publié en 2020
Cette licence est réservée uniquement à une personne indépendante travaillant seule. Elle autorise l’installation du fichier de la fonte sur un ordinateur fixe et un ordinateur portable uniquement.
200€[9 styles]
🡡 Faites des économies pensez au pack 🡡
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
200€ [HT]
🡢 Un seul type de licence par commande est possible. Elle est modifiable dans le panier.
🡢 Pour acheter plusieurs types de licences, il vous faut faire des commandes indépendantes.

À propos du Boogy Brut


9 styles
Dessiné par Bureau Brut & Julien Priez (Boogy Paper)
Publié en 2020

Boogy Brut, c’est la fusion entre Boogy Paper et Bureau Brut. Mais au fait, qui est Boogy Paper ?

Julien Priez de son vrai nom, est un calligraphe-typographe, membre du collectif « High On Type ». Son travail mêle ces deux disciplines comme pouvaient le faire ses mentors Oscar Ogg et Berthold Wolpe, pour qui la calligraphie n’est pas nécessairement une finalité mais une étape dans le processus de création. C’est en partie cette vision qui a guidé la création de cette famille, l’ambition n’étant pas de rendre la calligraphie dans une typographie mais de créer une typographie numérique contemporaine. Le résultat se traduit par des formes volontairement affutées qui révèlent la structure des calligraphies d’origine, toutes les imperfections laissées par la main, l’outil ou le papier étant éliminées. Ainsi le Boogy Brut ne s’inspire pas d’un modèle en particulier mais d’un ensemble de recherches mené par Julien au cours de ces dernières années.

 

La famille propose un spectre d’usages volontairement large : lettrine, poster & texte. Chaque sous-famille a son propre design tout en répondant à une harmonie générale. Les versions Wild sont conçues comme des initiales : très loin de la traditionnelle quête de lisibilité, ces versions se situent à la frontière entre art plastique et design. Les versions Posters, conçues pour du titrage, sont les plus fidèles aux modèles calligraphiques. Afin d’avoir un encombrement minimal, les approches ont été travaillées finement pour les rendre le plus serrées possible. Aussi chaque terminaison a été conçue pour que chaque lettre s’enchaîne harmonieusement, et si certains signes se touchent parfois, c’est pour créer des ligatures naturelles. La dernière partie de la famille se compose de versions optimisées pour un usage en petit corps. Comprenant un large jeu de caractères et de fonctionnalités OpenType, ces styles sont adaptés à la composition de textes. Faussement classiques, ces versions vibrent et héritent du caractère bien trempé des versions Poster. Patience pour les italiques, elles sont en cours de réalisation !

 

 Spécimen PDF

 Versions TEST

 

Traits distinctifs


 

 

Showcase


🡦 Wild White

WILD

🡦 Wild Black

WEST

🡦 Poster White

Quiet Storm

🡦 Poster Black

Diamonds

🡦 Poster White + Wild White

Excursions

🡦 Poster Black + Wild Black

Reunited

🡦 Bold

Un immense sillage, d’une blancheur éclatante, marquait le passage de l’animal.

🡦 Medium

Il ne s’agit plus alors d’un problème scientifique à résoudre, mais bien d’un danger réel sérieux à éviter.

🡦 Regular

L’animal me parut être admirablement proportionné dans ses trois dimensions.

🡦 Book

Ces ordres furent exécutés, et la frégate s’éloigna rapidement du foyer lumineux.

🡦 Light

Ce fait, extrêmement grave en lui-même, eût peut-être été oublié comme tant d’autres.

🡦 Bold

Un cri de fureur s’échappa de toutes les poitrines ! À midi, nous n’étions pas plus avancés qu’à huit heures du matin. Le commandant Farragut se décida alors à employer des moyens plus directs. « Ah ! dit-il, cet animal-là va plus vite que l’Abraham Lincoln ! Eh bien : nous allons voir s’il distancera ses boulets coniques. Maître, des hommes à la pièce de l’avant. » Le canon de gaillard fut immédiatement chargé boulet passa à quelques pieds au-dessus du cétacé, qui se tenait à un demi-mille. « À un autre plus adroit ! cria le commandant, et cinq cents dollars à qui percera cette infernale bête ! » Un vieux canonnier à barbe grise — que je vois encore — , l’œil calme, la physionomie froide, s’approcha de sa pièce, la mit en position et visa longtemps. Une forte détonation éclata, à laquelle se mêlèrent les hurrahs de l’équipage. Le boulet atteignit son but, il frappa l’animal, mais non pas normalement, et glissant sur sa surface arrondie, il alla se perdre à deux milles en mer.

🡦 Medium

Un cri de fureur s’échappa de toutes les poitrines ! À midi, nous n’étions pas plus avancés qu’à huit heures du matin. Le commandant Farragut se décida alors à employer des moyens plus directs. « Ah ! dit-il, cet animal-là va plus vite que l’Abraham Lincoln ! Eh bien : nous allons voir s’il distancera ses boulets coniques. Maître, des hommes à la pièce de l’avant. » Le canon de gaillard fut immédiatement chargé boulet passa à quelques pieds au-dessus du cétacé, qui se tenait à un demi-mille. « À un autre plus adroit ! cria le commandant, et cinq cents dollars à qui percera cette infernale bête ! » Un vieux canonnier à barbe grise — que je vois encore — , l’œil calme, la physionomie froide, s’approcha de sa pièce, la mit en position et visa longtemps. Une forte détonation éclata, à laquelle se mêlèrent les hurrahs de l’équipage. Le boulet atteignit son but, il frappa l’animal, mais non pas normalement, et glissant sur sa surface arrondie, il alla se perdre à deux milles en mer.

🡦 Regular

Un cri de fureur s’échappa de toutes les poitrines ! À midi, nous n’étions pas plus avancés qu’à huit heures du matin. Le commandant Farragut se décida alors à employer des moyens plus directs. « Ah ! dit-il, cet animal-là va plus vite que l’Abraham Lincoln ! Eh bien : nous allons voir s’il distancera ses boulets coniques. Maître, des hommes à la pièce de l’avant. » Le canon de gaillard fut immédiatement chargé boulet passa à quelques pieds au-dessus du cétacé, qui se tenait à un demi-mille. « À un autre plus adroit ! cria le commandant, et cinq cents dollars à qui percera cette infernale bête ! » Un vieux canonnier à barbe grise — que je vois encore — , l’œil calme, la physionomie froide, s’approcha de sa pièce, la mit en position et visa longtemps. Une forte détonation éclata, à laquelle se mêlèrent les hurrahs de l’équipage. Le boulet atteignit son but, il frappa l’animal, mais non pas normalement, et glissant sur sa surface arrondie, il alla se perdre à deux milles en mer.

🡦 Book

Un cri de fureur s’échappa de toutes les poitrines ! À midi, nous n’étions pas plus avancés qu’à huit heures du matin. Le commandant Farragut se décida alors à employer des moyens plus directs. « Ah ! dit-il, cet animal-là va plus vite que l’Abraham Lincoln ! Eh bien : nous allons voir s’il distancera ses boulets coniques. Maître, des hommes à la pièce de l’avant. » Le canon de gaillard fut immédiatement chargé boulet passa à quelques pieds au-dessus du cétacé, qui se tenait à un demi-mille. « À un autre plus adroit ! cria le commandant, et cinq cents dollars à qui percera cette infernale bête ! » Un vieux canonnier à barbe grise — que je vois encore — , l’œil calme, la physionomie froide, s’approcha de sa pièce, la mit en position et visa longtemps. Une forte détonation éclata, à laquelle se mêlèrent les hurrahs de l’équipage. Le boulet atteignit son but, il frappa l’animal, mais non pas normalement, et glissant sur sa surface arrondie, il alla se perdre à deux milles en mer.

🡦 Light

Un cri de fureur s’échappa de toutes les poitrines ! À midi, nous n’étions pas plus avancés qu’à huit heures du matin. Le commandant Farragut se décida alors à employer des moyens plus directs. « Ah ! dit-il, cet animal-là va plus vite que l’Abraham Lincoln ! Eh bien : nous allons voir s’il distancera ses boulets coniques. Maître, des hommes à la pièce de l’avant. » Le canon de gaillard fut immédiatement chargé boulet passa à quelques pieds au-dessus du cétacé, qui se tenait à un demi-mille. « À un autre plus adroit ! cria le commandant, et cinq cents dollars à qui percera cette infernale bête ! » Un vieux canonnier à barbe grise — que je vois encore — , l’œil calme, la physionomie froide, s’approcha de sa pièce, la mit en position et visa longtemps. Une forte détonation éclata, à laquelle se mêlèrent les hurrahs de l’équipage. Le boulet atteignit son but, il frappa l’animal, mais non pas normalement, et glissant sur sa surface arrondie, il alla se perdre à deux milles en mer.

Aperçu du jeu de caractères


Boogy Brut


Boogy Brut Poster


Boogy Brut Wild