About us

Bureau Brut
69–71 rue de la Fraternité
93100 Montreuil

 

bonjour@bureaubrut.com
Facebook
Instagram
Behance
Fontsinuse

About us

Our graphic design studio tackles visual identities, editorial design and type design, for private and cultural clients or within the framework of self-initiated projects. We use our expertise to engage with various thematic and geographical environments while always being receptive to their specific contingencies. We like to share and pass on our methodology through exhibitions and talks, workshops, teaching and examining boards. Julia Joffre, Yoann Minet et Camille Prandi met while studying at the École Estienne in Paris, and founded Bureau Brut in 2015.

 

Portfolio

Our practice is driven by an insatiable curiosity, a total commitment to every project, and a keen understanding of strategic goals and situations. Our creative process brings together the building of typographic tools, the art direction of visual material and an exacting attitude towards implementation. Our work reveals the inner truth of a design project: the brief and its context.

 

Retail typefaces

These are original and exclusive designs that display Bureau Brut’s taste and demanding attitude. Some were originally designed as custom typefaces, others were born from personal research, but all of them are waiting for you to reach out towards new horizons. Others come from the need for an efficient, straightforward typographic tool and aim at becoming the partners you can always rely on in your day-to-day practice. Lastly, graphic design is an inherently social endeavour that provides us with many opportunities to collaborate with highly talented individuals. Why not take advantage of it? Some of typefaces are testament to these fortuitous or intentional encounters.

Talks

 

— Arts en fac, Université Bordeaux Montaigne, Bordeaux 2019
— Journée d’étude typographique, ESAP, Pau 2018
— Plexus, école Estienne, Paris 2015
— Sanseverything, Esad, Amiens 2016

 

Workshops / Teaching / Jury

 

— ECAL, Lausanne, 2017, 2020
— école Estienne, Paris 2015, 2020
— ECV, Aix-en-Provence 2016, 2017
— ECV, Bordeaux 2015, 2016
— ENSAAMA, Paris 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019
— HEAD, Geneva, 2019
— ISEG, Paris 2015, 2017
— La Cambre, Brussels, 2018, 2019
— Lycée Auguste Renoir, Paris 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019
— Paris College of Art, Paris 2018, 2019, 2020

 

Publications

 

— Actual Source, Shoplifters 8: New Type Design — USA 2019
— Akademische Mitteilungen, Nº 22, Germany 2017
— clikclk.fr, France 2017
— étapes:, Nº 238, France 2017
— étapes:, hors-série Nº 002, France 2018
— indexgraphik.fr, France 2017
— Transmission, musée des Arts Décoratifs, France 2017–2018
— Typodarium, Germany 2017, 2019

 

Exhibitions

 

— Musée de l’imprimerie de Nantes
«Création typographique française contemporaine» [2010–2020], Nantes 2020
— Print program, Carouge, Switzerland 2016

À propos

Bureau Brut
69–71 rue de la Fraternité
93100 Montreuil

 

bonjour@bureaubrut.com
Facebook
Instagram
Behance
Fontsinuse

À propos

Notre bureau de création graphique agit dans les domaines de l’identité visuelle, du design éditorial et du dessin de caractères typographiques, aussi bien dans des contextes de commande que sur des projets auto-initiés. Nous engageons notre savoir-faire sur des territoires thématiques et géographiques diversifiés, en nous montrant toujours soucieux de l’environnement dans lesquels ils s’inscrivent. Nous aimons partager et transmettre notre pratique à travers des expositions ou des conférences, mais aussi des workshops, des cours et des jurys de diplômes. Fondé en 2015, Bureau Brut est né de la rencontre de Julia Joffre, Yoann Minet et Camille Prandi sur les bancs de l’École Estienne.

 

Portfolio

Notre pratique se distingue par une insatiable curiosité, une attention sincère pour chaque projet, ainsi qu’une compréhension des situations et des objectifs stratégiques. Notre processus de création associe l’élaboration d’outils typographiques, la conception de visuels et l’exigence dans la mise en œuvre. Notre travail révèle la matière brute que sont la commande et son contexte.

 

Retail typefaces

Ce sont des créations typographiques, originales et exclusives dont la singularité reflète notre exigence et notre goût. Certaines, originellement conçues dans le cadre d’une commande de design graphique ou fruits d’une recherche personnelle, n’attendent que vous pour s’envoler vers de nouveaux horizons. D’autres ont l’ambition d’entrer dans votre quotidien comme des partenaires sur lesquels vous pourrez toujours compter, des outils typographiques efficaces et sans état d’âme. Enfin, si le graphisme est une pratique sociale, pourquoi ne pas tirer parti des multiples opportunités qu’il nous offre de collaborer avec des personnalités de talent ? Certaines de ces créations rendront compte de ces occasions fortuites ou provoquées.

Conférences

 

— Arts en fac, Université Bordeaux Montaigne, Bordeaux 2019
— Journée d’étude typographique, ESAP, Pau 2018
— Plexus, école Estienne, Paris 2015
— Sanseverything — Esad, Amiens 2016

 

Workshops / Enseignement / Jury

 

— ECAL, Lausanne, 2017, 2020
— École Estienne, Paris 2015, 2020
— ECV, Aix-en-Provence 2016, 2017
— ECV, Bordeaux 2015, 2016
— ENSAAMA, Paris 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019
— HEAD, Genève, 2019
— ISEG, Paris 2015, 2017
— La Cambre, Bruxelles, 2018, 2019
— Lycée Auguste Renoir, Paris 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019
— Paris College of Art, Paris 2018, 2019, 2020

 

Publications

 

— Actual Source, Shoplifters 8: New Type Design, États-unis 2019
— Akademische Mitteilungen, Nº 22, Allemagne 2017
— clikclk.fr, France 2017
— étapes:, Nº 238, France 2017
— étapes:, hors-série Nº 002, France 2018
— indexgraphik.fr, France 2017
— Transmission, musées des Arts Décoratifs, France 2017–2018
— Typodarium, Allemagne 2017, 2019

 

Expositions

 

— Musée de l’imprimerie de Nantes
« Création typographique française contemporaine » [2010–2020], Nantes 2020
— Print program, Carouge, Suisse 2016