Bureau Brut

Buy fonts

  • 60 pt
    Matorral Book
  • 60 pt
    Matorral Book Italic
  • 60 pt
    Matorral Regular
  • 60 pt
    Matorral Italic
  • 60 pt
    Matorral Medium
  • 60 pt
    Matorral Medium Italic
  • 60 pt
    Matorral Bold
  • 60 pt
    Matorral Bold Italic

Matorral

Designed by Bureau Brut
Published in 2019
This license is reserved only for an independent person working alone. It allows the installation of the font file on a fixed computer and a laptop only.
200€[8 styles]
Save on your order, think about the family pack
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
200€ [excl. taxes]
🡢 You can only order one kind of license with each order. You can change it in the cart.
🡢 To buy multiple kind of licenses, you need to place separate orders.

About Matorral


8 styles
Designed by Bureau Brut in 2016,
with the help of Baptiste Lecanu (intern)
Published in 2019

Matorral originates from the single-weight bespoke typeface we designed for the identity of Musée de la Poterie de La Borne (Ceramics Museum of La Borne). A sturdy creation whose contoured shapes allude to the handiwork of the craftsman, it draws inspiration from typefaces released at the end of the 19th-early 20th century that similarly explore possible connections between tradition and modernity. Matorral borrows some of their details, notably the t from Fritz H. Ehmcke’s Ehmcke Antiqua (Flinsch, 1908) and the R from William F. Capitain’s Caxton Old Style (Marder, Luse & Co., 1889), but also features an M with a distinctive “Marseille vibe“ (it is inspired by the monogram of René Dufaure de Montmirail, founder of the Olympique de Marseille football club, 1899). Italic versions intensify these principles. The typeface has kept its original energy and its stocky and packed look, but it has been optimised for text setting: its proportions are more conventional—even if the x-height is still generous—, contrasts are more nuanced, and new weights are available. Its name derives from some of its sharpest details—the terminal without teardrops, for instance—which give it an overall “dry” feel reminiscent of the warm, arid climate of Mediterranean islands such as Corsica or Sicily.

 

 PDF specimen

 TEST versions

Distinctive features


Showcase


🡦 Bold

Avignon

🡦 Bold Italic

Marseille

🡦 Regular

Chorges

🡦 Italic

Briançon

🡦 Bold + Bold Italic

An immense track,
of dazzling whiteness,
marked the passage
of the animal.

🡦 Medium + Medium Italic

As to its dimensions,
I could only conjecture
them to be admirably
proportioned.

🡦 Regular + Italic

As to its dimensions,
I could only conjecture
them to be admirably
proportioned.

🡦 Bold + Bold Italic

A cry of fury broke from everyone! At noon we were no further advanced than at eight o’clock in the morning. The captain then decided to take more direct means. “Ah!” said he, “that animal goes quicker than the Abraham Lincoln. Very well! we will see whether it will escape these conical bullets. Send your men to the forecastle, sir.” The forecastle gun was immediately loaded and slewed round. But the shot passed some feet above the cetacean, which was half a mile off. “Another, more to the right,” cried the commander, “and five dollars to whoever An old gunner with a grey beard—that I can see now—with steady eye and grave face, went up to the gun and took a long aim. A loud report was heard, with which were mingled the cheers of the crew. The bullet did its work; it hit the animal, and, sliding off the rounded surface, was lost in two miles depth of sea.

🡦 Medium + Medium Italic

A cry of fury broke from everyone! At noon we were no further advanced than at eight o’clock in the morning. The captain then decided to take more direct means. “Ah!” said he, “that animal goes quicker than the Abraham Lincoln. Very well! we will see whether it will escape these conical bullets. Send your men to the forecastle, sir.” The forecastle gun was immediately loaded and slewed round. But the shot passed some feet above the cetacean, which was half a mile off. “Another, more to the right,” cried the commander, “and five dollars to whoever An old gunner with a grey beard—that I can see now—with steady eye and grave face, went up to the gun and took a long aim. A loud report was heard, with which were mingled the cheers of the crew. The bullet did its work; it hit the animal, and, sliding off the rounded surface, was lost in two miles depth of sea.

🡦 Regular + Italic

A cry of fury broke from everyone! At noon we were no further advanced than at eight o’clock in the morning. The captain then decided to take more direct means. “Ah!” said he, “that animal goes quicker than the Abraham Lincoln. Very well! we will see whether it will escape these conical bullets. Send your men to the forecastle, sir.” The forecastle gun was immediately loaded and slewed round. But the shot passed some feet above the cetacean, which was half a mile off. “Another, more to the right,” cried the commander, “and five dollars to whoever An old gunner with a grey beard—that I can see now—with steady eye and grave face, went up to the gun and took a long aim. A loud report was heard, with which were mingled the cheers of the crew. The bullet did its work; it hit the animal, and, sliding off the rounded surface, was lost in two miles depth of sea.

🡦 Book + Book Italic

A cry of fury broke from everyone! At noon we were no further advanced than at eight o’clock in the morning. The captain then decided to take more direct means. “Ah!” said he, “that animal goes quicker than the Abraham Lincoln. Very well! we will see whether it will escape these conical bullets. Send your men to the forecastle, sir.” The forecastle gun was immediately loaded and slewed round. But the shot passed some feet above the cetacean, which was half a mile off. “Another, more to the right,” cried the commander, “and five dollars to whoever An old gunner with a grey beard—that I can see now—with steady eye and grave face, went up to the gun and took a long aim. A loud report was heard, with which were mingled the cheers of the crew. The bullet did its work; it hit the animal, and, sliding off the rounded surface, was lost in two miles depth of sea.

Character set preview

Bureau Brut

Buy fonts

  • 60 pt
    Matorral Book
  • 60 pt
    Matorral Book Italic
  • 60 pt
    Matorral Regular
  • 60 pt
    Matorral Italic
  • 60 pt
    Matorral Medium
  • 60 pt
    Matorral Medium Italic
  • 60 pt
    Matorral Bold
  • 60 pt
    Matorral Bold Italic

Matorral

Dessiné par Bureau Brut
Publié en 2019
Cette licence est réservée uniquement à une personne indépendante travaillant seule. Elle autorise l’installation du fichier de la fonte sur un ordinateur fixe et un ordinateur portable uniquement.
200€[8 styles]
🡡 Faites des économies pensez au pack 🡡
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
60 €
200€ [HT]
🡢 Un seul type de licence par commande est possible. Elle est modifiable dans le panier.
🡢 Pour acheter plusieurs types de licences, il vous faut faire des commandes indépendantes.

À propos du Matorral


8 styles
Dessiné par Bureau Brut en 2016,
avec l’aide de Baptiste Lecanu (stagiaire)
Publié en 2019

À l’origine du Matorral se trouve l’unique graisse du caractère d’identité du Musée de la Poterie de La Borne, une création robuste, aux formes modelées, qui évoque le travail manuel de l’artisan. Son dessin a été inspiré par des modèles de la fin du XIXe et du début du XXe siècle qui explorent les tensions entre tradition et modernité. Le Matorral leur emprunte certains détails, notamment le t du caractère Ehmcke Antiqua (Fritz Helmuth Ehmcke, Flinsch, 1908) et le R du Caxton Old Style (William F. Capitain, Marder, Luse & Co., 1889), mais possède aussi un M très « marseillais » (un souvenir du monogramme de René Dufaure de Montmirail, fondateur de l’Olympique de Marseille, 1899). Le dessin de l’italique exacerbe ces principes. Si ce caractère a conservé son énergie et son allure trapue et tassée, il est désormais optimisé pour une composition en texte courant. Ses proportions sont plus classiques (même s’il conserve une hauteur d’œil conséquente), ses contrastes sont moins marqués, et il possède une plus large palette de graisses. Ses terminaisons sèches et sans gouttes, qui lui confèrent une forme d’aridité, ont contribué à lui donner son nom.

 

 Spécimen PDF

 Versions TEST

Traits distinctifs


Showcase


🡦 Bold

Avignon

🡦 Bold Italic

Marseille

🡦 Regular

Chorges

🡦 Italic

Briançon

🡦 Bold + Bold Italic

Un immense sillage, d’une blancheur éclatante, marquait le passage de l’animal.

🡦 Medium + Medium Italic

L’animal me parut être admirablement proportionné dans ses trois dimensions.

🡦 Regular + Italic

Ces ordres furent exécutés, et la frégate s’éloigna rapidement du foyer lumineux.

🡦 Bold + Bold Italic

Un cri de fureur s’échappa de toutes les poitrines ! À midi, nous n’étions pas plus avancés qu’à huit heures du matin. Le commandant Farragut se décida alors à employer des moyens plus directs. « Ah ! dit-il, cet animal-là va plus vite que l’Abraham Lincoln ! Eh bien : nous allons voir s’il distancera ses boulets coniques. Maître, des hommes à la pièce de l’avant. » Le canon de gaillard fut immédiatement chargé boulet passa à quelques pieds au-dessus du cétacé, qui se tenait à un demi-mille. « À un autre plus adroit ! cria le commandant, et cinq cents dollars à qui percera cette infernale bête ! » Un vieux canonnier à barbe grise — que je vois encore — , l’œil calme, la physionomie froide, s’approcha de sa pièce, la mit en position et visa longtemps. Une forte détonation éclata, à laquelle se mêlèrent les hurrahs de l’équipage. Le boulet atteignit son but, il frappa l’animal, mais non pas normalement, et glissant sur sa surface arrondie, il alla se perdre à deux milles en mer.

🡦 Medium + Medium Italic

Un cri de fureur s’échappa de toutes les poitrines ! À midi, nous n’étions pas plus avancés qu’à huit heures du matin. Le commandant Farragut se décida alors à employer des moyens plus directs. « Ah ! dit-il, cet animal-là va plus vite que l’Abraham Lincoln ! Eh bien : nous allons voir s’il distancera ses boulets coniques. Maître, des hommes à la pièce de l’avant. » Le canon de gaillard fut immédiatement chargé boulet passa à quelques pieds au-dessus du cétacé, qui se tenait à un demi-mille. « À un autre plus adroit ! cria le commandant, et cinq cents dollars à qui percera cette infernale bête ! » Un vieux canonnier à barbe grise — que je vois encore — , l’œil calme, la physionomie froide, s’approcha de sa pièce, la mit en position et visa longtemps. Une forte détonation éclata, à laquelle se mêlèrent les hurrahs de l’équipage. Le boulet atteignit son but, il frappa l’animal, mais non pas normalement, et glissant sur sa surface arrondie, il alla se perdre à deux milles en mer.

🡦 Regular + Italic

Un cri de fureur s’échappa de toutes les poitrines ! À midi, nous n’étions pas plus avancés qu’à huit heures du matin. Le commandant Farragut se décida alors à employer des moyens plus directs. « Ah ! dit-il, cet animal-là va plus vite que l’Abraham Lincoln ! Eh bien : nous allons voir s’il distancera ses boulets coniques. Maître, des hommes à la pièce de l’avant. » Le canon de gaillard fut immédiatement chargé boulet passa à quelques pieds au-dessus du cétacé, qui se tenait à un demi-mille. « À un autre plus adroit ! cria le commandant, et cinq cents dollars à qui percera cette infernale bête ! » Un vieux canonnier à barbe grise — que je vois encore — , l’œil calme, la physionomie froide, s’approcha de sa pièce, la mit en position et visa longtemps. Une forte détonation éclata, à laquelle se mêlèrent les hurrahs de l’équipage. Le boulet atteignit son but, il frappa l’animal, mais non pas normalement, et glissant sur sa surface arrondie, il alla se perdre à deux milles en mer.

🡦 Book + Book Italic

Un cri de fureur s’échappa de toutes les poitrines ! À midi, nous n’étions pas plus avancés qu’à huit heures du matin. Le commandant Farragut se décida alors à employer des moyens plus directs. « Ah ! dit-il, cet animal-là va plus vite que l’Abraham Lincoln ! Eh bien : nous allons voir s’il distancera ses boulets coniques. Maître, des hommes à la pièce de l’avant. » Le canon de gaillard fut immédiatement chargé boulet passa à quelques pieds au-dessus du cétacé, qui se tenait à un demi-mille. « À un autre plus adroit ! cria le commandant, et cinq cents dollars à qui percera cette infernale bête ! » Un vieux canonnier à barbe grise — que je vois encore — , l’œil calme, la physionomie froide, s’approcha de sa pièce, la mit en position et visa longtemps. Une forte détonation éclata, à laquelle se mêlèrent les hurrahs de l’équipage. Le boulet atteignit son but, il frappa l’animal, mais non pas normalement, et glissant sur sa surface arrondie, il alla se perdre à deux milles en mer.

Aperçu du jeu de caractères